So what an interesting weekend it was. Even with being off on Saturday for a
bachelor party(more on that later) there were more than a couple instances
where I thought to myself….I need to write this down. So I did, and promptly can’t find my notes so
I will just have to wing this and see what I can remember.
How hard is it to say please, thank you and your
welcome. Simple courtesy if you ask
me. I say it to the girls just about
anytime I ask them anything and they say it in return. They are 12 and 8 years old so if they can
say it, why can’t grown adults say it? It
is the simple things when you work in the service industry. These things can make my night. Like not waving me over and then proceeding
to put a finger up asking me to hold on a second while you are on a phone
call. Why in the hell do you call me
over if you are going to make me wait while you finish your “important”
call. Can you imagine if I did the same
to you? I walk over, ask you what you would
like and then proceed to answer my phone and ask you to wait a moment. How long till you get peeved and walk
away? 30 seconds? So that’s what I do, I walk away and come
back later when the phone isn’t attached to your ear.
Here is a word of advice to all when dealing with someone
that works behind a bar. Walking up
behind me while I am speaking with
someone else or doing something and yelling EXCUSE ME!! will get you ignored
for as long as I think I can possibly get away with it. From working years behind a bar I have
very good hearing so yelling it over and
over and louder and louder will not help you.
Yes, I heard you, I am just choosing to ignore your rude, ignorant
ass. Believe me when I say I am very
good at finding ways to stay busy to make you stand there as long as
possible. It is an art that almost all bartenders
have perfected. On further note, why do
people think that by saying EXCUSE ME they are not being rude? It is sort of
like saying…no offense but….... More
often than not, the person will take offense to what you are saying.
So a couple walks up to the bar and orders 2 LIT’s. They look at me and say, why don’t you throw
some extra in there for me. Why say
this? A Long Island is almost all
alcohol. I have never seen these people
before so why will I give you free stuff?
If it is a your birthday, bachelor/bachelorette party, a special event
or you are a regular I am more than happy to give you a free drink or make your
drink a little stronger. We have a comp
tab for exactly this reason. But
Joe/Jane Schmo walking in off the street and demanding free stuff…no way. So what do I say to this couple? I look at the guy, size up his oversized
white t shirt, baggy pants and hat turned sideways and ask him if that when I come
into waffle house after work will he throw me a free pancake if I ask for
one. He says I don’t work at waffle house
but no I wouldn’t . I say same theory
and he looks baffled. So even if you
ask for free alcohol and I say yes, more than likely I will still pour the same
amount or possibly less.
Speaking again about waiting for a drink. Your wait time increases exponentially by the
amount you tip. If you stiff me or
another bartender I work with we let each other know and you will stand there
until there is no one else to help. Wave
your hands, yell at us, do jumping jacks, it does not matter. You are waiting. That simple.
You take care of us, we take care of you. It is a simple tenant of the service
industry. We will not be rude but will
you get the A game? Nope.
There will be more tomorrow including the paintball
adventure on this past Saturday. So
until then…drink responsibly, drive safely and most important of all…tip your
bartender!!
